Unannounced Visit

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”
Thorin II Oakenshield in The Hobbit, The Return Journey

 

A  stranger visited my house.

 

He entered without notice.

 

Inside my room without a doorbell.

 

He visited when the stars were on duty.

 

Unannounced at dawn when all birds were mute and the wild asleep.

 

When my bedroom light was off and my neighbor’s door locked.

 

During the midnight hours, dark and cold.

 

The only night in a dream with a lover of my past.

 

This night you choose to visit.

 

He tried to wake me up but I refused.

 

He cut my window net but I didn’t.

 

He tried to look through but I didn’t.

 

He later slid my window sharp, opened my window curtains.

 

I did not wake, I guess who can’t stop a dream with a lover of the past.

 

Disappointed as he was, decides to leave me alone.

 

Left with a gift to tell me he was here.

 

He might have looked very familiar but unknown.

 

How generous I was, In he came with nothing but out he went with gifts.

 

He left with a Samsung Tablet and my wallet.

 

Being so good, he dropped my wallet.

 

He left me those he thought I would need.

 

My ID and Insurance card.

 

How generous I would if I had known when he will leave.

 

Please leave your name and number next.

Leave a Reply

